The year ended in style for Victoria University Students as they wound down 2015 in style. They celebrated Christmas and also had a very colorful guild handover ceremony at Arirang Restaurant. They were then treated with tickets to the just concluded Born to Win concert .

Also in attendance was the university staff led by the Vice Chancellor Dr Robert Stephen Isabalija, the Ruparelia Group Lawyer Mr Nelson Walusimbi among others.

The Vice Chancellor while presiding over the function appreciated the old guild for their role in leadership of the student body. He thanked them for working with the university team and also for the great work done. He also welcomed the new cabinet and pledged to support them while executing their role as he believed that they too are very capable leadership. Notable to note on this new cabinet is that the new Vice President in charge of Public Relations Ms Victoria Olubowale from Nigeria. He wished them success in their new roles as leaders.

The former guild president Mr Ameer Kharmali , a former student of International School of Uganda and currently pursuing Banking and Finance while delivering his speech mentioned that they were grateful for the support from the Vice Chancellor and university leadership. He appreciated the team support from his guild mentioned that during his tenure was clubs Sports, Business, International Students club and temporary constitution.

The new guild president Mr Keith Mugabi Harold , A former student of Turkish Light Academy and currently pursuing Bachelor of Information Technology thanked the students for electing him as president. He appreciated his predecessor and the cabinet for the good work they had done. He pledged to ensure the constitution is in place and that Victoria University becomes a university every student wants to join.

Also in attendance was the new guild president’s uncle Mr Sande Kanyarubona and his mother Mrs Edith Kateete, Corporation secretary of National Water and Sewerage Corporation.

The swearing in was presided over by vice chancellor and the handover was conducted by the legal counsel Mr Nelson Walusimbi .

The old Cabinet members were;

  1. Mr Ameer Kharmali  (Guild President)
  2. Grace Alango Achiru (Secretary/Treasurer)
  3. Poogo Fred (Vice President : Social Affairs)
  4. Rebecca Subbi (Vice President : Academics)
  5. Mariam Jiwani (Vice President : Public Relation)

The New Cabinet includes:

  1. Mr Keith Mugabi Harold (Guild President)
  2. Mr Peter Isiko (Secretary/Treasurer)
  3. Mr. Laban Wandera (Vice President : Social Affairs)
  4. Pius Kityo (Vice President : Academics)
  5. Victoria Olubowale (Vice President : Public Relation)
Share Button

This post has been seen 3774 times.

Related posts

Leave a Comment