CAF AWARDS: Onyango and Uganda cranes make history.


Uganda Cranes beat DR Congo and Senegal to the team of the year award after a clinical year of breaking the 39 year of jinx after failure to return to the continental showpiece.

On the other hand, Onyango was better of Mamelodi Sundowns teammate Khama Billiat and TP Mazembe’s Reinford Kalaba.

He thus became the first goalkeeper to scoop the award designed to reward players who ply their trade on the continent.

Onyango, who was also named among the CAF best XI is now in transit to join the Uganda Cranes team where the national team is preparing for the 2017 Total Africa Cup of Nations.

Full list of Winners:

African Player of the Year – Riyad Mahrez (Algeria & Leicester City)

African Player of the Year – Based in Africa: Denis Onyango (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns)

Women’s Player of the Year: Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Arsenal Ladies)

Most Promising Talent: Kelechi Iheanacho (Nigeria & Manchester City)

Youth Player of the Year:  Alex Iwobi (Nigeria and Arsenal)

Coach of the Year: Pitso Mosimane (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Uganda Cranes was voted the best team of the year at the Glo CAF Awards as goalkeeper Dennis Onyango scooped the player of the year based in Africa accolade.

This was at the glamorous awards night held at the International Conference Center in Abuja on Thursday night.

Uganda was ably represented by the FUFA CEO, Edgar Watson and Onyango himself before hundreds of CAF dignitaries, invited guests, sponsors, media personnel, the respective federation administrators, current and retired footballers.

Club of the Year: Mamelodi Sundowns

National Team of the Year:Uganda

Women’s National Team of the Year:Nigeria

Referee of the Year: Bakary Papa Gassama

Football Leader of the Year: Manuel Lopes Nascimento, President of Guinea Bissau Football Federation

Legend Award: Laurent Pokou, Former player of Cote d’Ivoire and Emilienne MBANGO, Former player of Cameroon

Africa Finest XI

Goalkeeper: Denis Onyango (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns)

Defenders: Serge Aurier (Cote d’Ivoire & Paris Saint-Germain), Aymen Abdennour (Tunisia & Valencia), Eric Bailly (Cote d’Ivoire & Manchester United), Joyce Lomalisa (DR Congo & AS Vita)

Midfielders: Khama Billiat (Zimbabwe & Mamelodi Sundowns), Rainford Kalaba (Zambia & TP Mazembe), Keegan Dolly (South Africa & Mamelodi Sundowns)

Forwards: Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Borussia Dortmund), Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool), Riyad Mahrez (Algeria & Leicester City)

Aymen Mathlouthi (Tunisia & Etoile du Sahel), Kalidou Koulibaly (Senegal & Napoli), Salif Coulibaly (Mali & TP Mazembe), Islam Slimani (Algeria & Leicester City), Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Roma), Kelechi Iheanacho (Nigeria & Manchester City), Alex  Iwobi (Nigeria and Arsenal)

Share Button

This post has been seen 5006 times.

Related posts

Leave a Comment